Top Ten New-to-Us Authors in 2015

ttt

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the top 10 favorite authors we read for the first time in 2015.

Since there’s seven readers here, we couldn’t just come up with ten. In future weeks, we may come up with ten as a group or ten just from one person. For our first entry, we all wanted to join in and found some overlap in our choices:

Lioness picks:

  1. Helene WeckerThe Golem and the Jinni was one of the most beautiful and enchanting books I had the pleasure of reading this year
  2. G. Willow WilsonMs. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal was one of the most fun books I read this year, and the two followups were just as fun. I also picked up Alif the Unseen to see what her prose work was like and found a fun novel that combined technology and mythology. She’s definitely one I will keep an eye on in the future.
  3. Ilona Andrews– Technically two authors and I’ve only read Clean Sweep and Sweep in Peace, but I had so much fun reading those books and look so forward to continuing that series and trying out their other books.
  4. Pierce Brown – I liked Red Rising and saw potential, but didn’t love it. Golden Son broke my heart and I have been eagerly awaiting Morning Star.
  5. Sarah J. Maas – Her Throne of Glass series has been on my list for a while and I finally took the plunge this year, reading The Assassin’s Blade novellas, Throne of Glass, and Crown of Midnight. I’m trying not to burn through the series too quickly.
  6. Sarah MacLean – A new romance author to me as I picked up her A Rogue by Any Other Name to fulfill a red cover challenge and have since read two more books in the Rules of Scoundrels series as well as all three books of her Love by Numbers series.
  7. Julia Quinn – Eight alphabetical siblings? The Bridgertons became favorite romance family since the Hathaways. I still have the novellas to read, nicely packaged in The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After and her other series to dive into.
  8. Maria V. Snyder – I’ve only read her Healer series but I really enjoyed it and I’ve always heard great things about her Study series.

Cocktail Phoenix:

  1. Abigail Roux – Cut & Run series
    First Book: Cut & Run

    Now I’m only two books into the series, but I have to admit that I really enjoy the mix between crime and interpersonal relations. This also being the first time I picked up an m/m romance book, I’m happy to say I have discovered a new genre I like reading.
  2. Jim Butcher – The Dresden Files
    First Book: Storm Front

    You get thrown right into the world and while the author leaves you to discover things on your own, leaving bits and pieces of information here and there, it’s the kind of writing I enjoy because it feels like you’re right there with the characters. Harry Dresden is a fantastic main character and over half-way through the series, I still enjoy it tremendously.
  3. April White – The Immortal Descendants
    First Book: Marking Time

    Considering the fact that I discovered this book as a freebie, I can only say that it is one of the best free books I have ever read. An interesting mix of young adult, fantasy and historical fiction that flows nicely and leaves you wanting to pick up the next book in the series right away.
  4. Rachel Hartman – Seraphina
    First Book: Seraphina

    As a fantasy and dragon lover, picking up this book was a given. And I didn’t regret it. I was swept away by the writing style, the characters and the world development.
  5. Karina Halle – The Artists Trilogy
    First Book: Sins & Needles

    A walk on the dark side, with a hint of romance coupled with a lot of cons that somehow do not work out the way they were planned. This was recommended to me and I had no idea what I would be getting myself into. I enjoyed it!
  6. Kylie Scott – Stage Dive Series
    First Book: Lick

    Music, romance with a touch more reality than seems to be generally used these days (it was refreshing!) – all around a very enjoyable and entertaining read.
  7. Sarah J. Maas – Throne of Glass & A Court of Thorns and Roses
    First Books: Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses

    So a tiny bit of a cheat as I read the first book in the Throne of Glass series in December 2014, but since “A Court of Thorns and Roses” was published this year, I figured I just had to mention her. Both series are absolutely great! I love the characters and the writing style, not to mention the world building.
  8. Faith Hunter – Jane Yellowrock
    First Book: Skinwalker

    So far I have only read the first book in the series, but Jane Yellowrock is a very interesting main character, and while this is urban fantasy with vampires, it doesn’t feel quite so typical and standard. Good start into a series, in my opinion.
  9. Jessica Park – Flat-Out Love
    First Book: Flat-Out Love

    Another recommendation and I fell in love with the easy writing style and I’m still swooning over the elevator scene. (You’ll know if/once you’ve read the book.) I already have Jessica Park’s next book sitting on my pile to be read soon.
  10. Rick Yancey – The Fifth Wave
    First Book: The 5th Wave

    I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book, though I figured Dystopia was always a good starting point. I wasn’t disappointed. The switching points of view took a bit of getting used to though.

Sally906:

  1. Julian Leatherdale – an Australian author whose debut novel blew me away
  2. Jessica Brockmole – loved her debut novel so much I have already pre-ordered bar next one due out in May
  3. Jandy Nelson – a YA author who tackled the gritty subject of the death of a close family member and how life goes on
  4. Deborah O’Brien – an Australian writer who has a number of novels under her belt, but I only discovered this year – she is fabulous and imam working my way through her books
  5. Austin Aslan – managed to surprise me, which is not easy to do, his trilogy is a blend of Hawiian mythology, modern day and Science fiction
  6. Sophia McDougall – another YA author who wrote a brilliant sci fi story that was so good I am hanging out for the announcement of the second book

Book Tiger:

  1. Maggie Stiefvater – who I loved, loved and loved some more.
  2. Ilona Andrews – I feel like I am the last person in the world to discover them.
  3. Jeaniene Frost – totally surprised by how much I enjoyed her books.

Serenity:

  1. Leigh Bardugo – okay, this one is a bit of a cheat, I read the first Grisha Dec 27 last year…but I love her series so much I couldn’t over look her!
  2. Robin LaFevers
  3. Lauren Willig
  4. Ilona Andrews – Book Tiger, you’re not alone! I only started reading their books this year as well!
  5. Patricia Briggs – Another what rock have I been under moment, lol
  6. Erin Morgenstern
  7. Khaled Hosseini

Some of these were authors who are just consistently really good, some are ones where I read one book by them that blew me away. Not all were 5 star reads, mostly because I try to save 5 stars for something mind blowing and/or that I would be willing to read again. With some many options out there are re-read is a big deal in my world! But, if you can get me to read 8 to 10+ books you’ve written, you deserve to be on the list 😉

Shotanagini:

  1. Chelsea Cain
  2. Michelle Moran

ReesieReads:

  1. Robert McCammon– I read Gone South in May and I loved it. Loved the characters, the atmosphere, the weirdness, all of it. I have a few of his books that I purchased in thrift shops years ago but for some reason, I just hadn’t read any until this year. I’ll be reading more of his books in the coming months/year.
  2. Barry Lyga – I read and LOVED his Jasper Dent series this year, especially the first two books: I Hunt Killers and Game
  3. Lisa Lutz – I had been recommended her “Spellmans” series for awhile now and I finally read book 1,The Spellman Files in March and I adored it. I read the second book a few months ago and I have the 3rd sitting here waiting for me. I am torn between reading it and moving to the next one vs savoring it because the series is complete at 6 or 7 books.
  4. Linda Castillo – I am always on the lookout for a new mystery series and her Kate Burkholder series delivered for me. I’ve only read the first book but I am looking forward to the next. They have a certain feel to them that makes me think of autumn or winter weather so I’ve been waiting for the right time to start book 2 and that time is very, very soon.
  5. Huntley Fitzpatrick – A new-to-me favorite contemporary YA author. I read her first book, My Life Next Door about 5 times in one weekend. I can’t really explain what it was that resonated so much with me but I was drawn into the world and characters she created. My library has finally stocked her second and third books so I’ll be getting those as soon as I return some stuff and make room on my library card.
  6. Libba Bray won me over with her wonderful satire, Beauty Queens. I plan to read more of her books.
  7. Charlie Cochet – my first m/m novel and the one that got me hooked on m/m! I loved the humor of Dex in her book, Hell & High Water, and I need to continue this series soon!
  8. A.M. Arthur – another m/m author that I was introduced to this year. I feel like she writes really good characters, complete with flaws and just a humanity to them that makes them feel real.
  9. Fannie Flagg – I was familiar with her from some of her acting and from the movie, Fried Green Tomatoes, but I’d never read her books. In January, I read A Redbird Christmas and just fell in love with it and it made me want to read more of her charming stories and endearing characters.
  10. Scott Hawkins – I read his book, The Library at Mount Char and went on a crazy roller coaster ride of thoughts and feeling. One minute, it felt like a mystery, then a paranormal, then supernatural and a little bit of horror. I could not figure out what I was reading for awhile and I loved it. I’d love to read something else of his.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten New-to-Us Authors in 2015

  1. Pingback: 6th Annual End Of Year Survey – 2015 edition!! | Book Charmers

Leave a Reply

