Serenity’s 2015 Book Survey

This is my first time completing this survey, but it was very interesting to look over my year as a whole.  I did struggle to keep things fairly balanced from start to finish as my recent reads stick in my mind much more than my beginning of the year reads.  For the most part, I tried not to over think it and just gave my first thoughts.  No need to stress about something that is supposed to be fun, right?  Also, because I tend to be a bit long-winded, I only answered the first section.  Trust me, it’s better this way.

Now, without further ado, here is my 2015 Book Survey from The Perpetual Page Turner.

My Reading Stats:

Number Of Books You Read: 178
Number of Re-Reads: 3
Genre You Read The Most From: Paranormal Fantasy

Best in Books:

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

9361589
This was tough, but I really liked The Night Circus as an overall favorite for the year.  It was well written and the plot had wonderful twists and turns.  I loved it and would recommend it to anyone!

Let’s just say you should read it.  Now.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

17380041

Longbourn.  UGH.  I love all things Austen, but now, thanks to this book I have to change that.  So, now I love (almost) all things Austen.  Sigh, just too much ridiculous playing with some of my favorite characters here for me to even begin to like this book.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

7942786Fair Game was definitely one of the more surprising for me.  I was surprised initially by how much I love the Alpha & Omega series (a spin off of Mercy Thompson) and this book in particular earned a rare 5 stars from me.  I just love, love Anna and Charles as a couple.  Also, as much as I love Paranormal, it doesn’t usually get a 5 star rating.  That this one did means I was definitely surprised by it.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I’m not sure I was the one doing the pushing this year.  Mostly I had people dragging me along and constantly telling me to “Read this!!”.  Maybe 2016 will be my year to become the book push-er instead of always the book push-ee.  You never know!

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

14061957 While I had many favorite series started and sequels read, one of my very favorite books this year was the series ender, Ruin and Rising.  I big fluffy pink heart LUV this book.  It perfectly tied everything together from the previous books and all while giving a wonderfully satisfying ending that I was afraid wouldn’t happen.  Love.  Love. LOVE.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Hmm, this is tough, too (aren’t they all??).  I think I will go with Patricia Briggs who writes the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series.  She is barely sneaking over the Ilona Andrews writing team, but as much as I love some Kate Daniels snark, Anna and Charles have won my heart.  Somethings just can’t be overcome!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

14064Definitely will have to go with I Am Legend for this one.  I read this for some challenge that I don’t even remember anymore, but was shocked to actually enjoy this one!  I DON’T read thrillers (at least if I can avoid it) so for me to like this says something.  Very thought provoking and easy to read for an older book.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

16096824

I might have read this in two days.  And I MIGHT have forgotten while I was reading it that I was supposed to be taking notes for a review.  Might.  But don’t tell the other authors here 😉

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Umm, none.  Sorry, but I try to avoid re-reading books.  Unless I’ve totally forgotten what happened in a previous series book, I try to stick to new reads as much as possible.  Just too much to read to spend time on things I’ve already read!  Unless it’s awesome.  Then I may make an exception.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

6357708 I love the cover of A Court of Thorns and Roses, but in an effort to not give the same answer back-to-back, I’ll use Sisters Red.  This is one I picked up because of the cover, but the story itself was fairly meh.  Not terrible, so try it out if it appeals to you, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Hmm, I’d have to say it’s a tie between Mercy Thompson and Kate Daniels.  Not that others haven’t been memorable, but I’ve spent so much time with these two this year that they are really the ones that stick out in my mind.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

The Night Circus, hands down.  (Seriously, read.it.now.)

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

128029 A Thousand Splendid Suns stands out to me in the thought-provoking category.  I loved this book, partly because it showed me a side to Afghanistan that I don’t normally see.  A human side.  In our world, I think books like this help us to understand and empathize more with those around us.  It helps that the writing in this book is wonderful as well.  I’m looking forward to reading more of Hosseini’s work.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

Probably Princess Diaries.  It was eh.  Much better suited to the time and age it was written for.  Of course, I am still reading through the series, so I’m not sure what that says about me…(Other than I’m stubborn…)

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

I don’t track these, sorry!!

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

62291<—-Longest. Shortest——–>14064

🙂

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

4374400

Definitely.  No words.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Have to go Charles and Anna, lol.  Did you read question three?

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

PrintI have to go with a recent read for this one.  Alexia and Ivy are hilarious together and it only gets better as the series goes on.  In fact, most of the supporting characters are amazing in this book.  Floote the butler is great, and so is Professor Lyall…you know what? Just read this one, too.  Save me some time, lol!

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

60510Last year I read the Healer series by Maria V. Snyder.  It was good, but didn’t blow my mind.  This year I read the Study series by Snyder and wow, these were another level altogether!  I can’t wait to continue on with the other spin-off and continuing trilogies!

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Umm, Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson were both started due to peer pressure, lol.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

204479Detective Jack Ramirez deserves a mention here.  Another peer pressure read that I ended up enjoying very much!

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

Hrm, well, I suppose that would be Red Queen, since that’s the ONLY debut I read this year.  That being said, I didn’t feel this one lived up to the hype.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Ahem, The Night Circus.  That is all.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

84351Let’s see, here’s another 5 star read, that I haven’t mentioned yet: The Secret History of the Pink Carnation!  It is a clever fake-historical fiction that isn’t afraid to have fun.  Both heroines (yes, there’s a story within a story here) are fun and the reveal at the end makes this read definitely worth it.  I thoroughly enjoyed this one!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

7798222This is my overall tear-jerker.  While We’re Far Apart is not a romance exactly, but it is very sentimental in tone and the characters learn so much about themselves throughout that I loved and grieved with them.  A caveat, this is Christian historical fiction, and I know that’s not for everyone.  For those who don’t mind that, this is a wonderful book and the characters are amazingly done.  Love!

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

19263293Play With Me definitely fits here.  This story was a Kindle freebie and I LOVED IT!  I read it only for a challenge because I needed a sports theme (not my normal genre at all) but I was very pleasantly surprised.  I reminded me a bit of Anna and the French Kiss, cute premise, adorable guy, and overall a fun quick read.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Longbourn.  Whhhhhhy?

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

23437156I’m going to go with Six of Crows.  Have I mentioned my love of Leigh Bardugo yet?  If not, I LOVE HER!  This one could have easily fit in the best worldbuilding category, because her Grisha world is so amazing.  I enjoy it every time I get to visit it!  Now to (im)patiently wait for #2…sigh…

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

I’d have to say A Storm of Swords.  The jumping POV with each chapter among so many characters just drove me up a wall.  Love the story, hate the formatting.

************************************

And that’s it!  Congrats, you made it all the way through my love-fest :).  I look forward to seeing what wonders 2016 will bring!

Keep reading,

Serenity

 

2 thoughts on “Serenity’s 2015 Book Survey

Leave a Reply

