Book Beginnings on Fridays

BB.Button

Here and there I hope to join up with Rose City Reader for her Book Beginnings on Fridays.  Basically, you just give the first line or two from the books you are reading that week and any thoughts you have on them.  So, without further ado, here are the books I have been reading this week.

12677913 “Rocking on the waves of the ocean, I dreamt I was swimming with a great dragon who winked at me.”

I have finally, finally completed The Tiger Saga (with the exception of the mysterious number 5, due out never), and I am so glad to be finished!  I loved this story starting out in Book 1.  Book 2 kinda derailed a bit for me, but the cliff-hanger (it’s a doozy, watch for it) kept me hanging on for Book 3.  By the time Book 4 rolled around though, I was over it.  Too much drama and not in the good way.  I’m trying not to spoil the books for anyone in the middle of one of them, but I really felt this last one not only lagged, but dragged things out that should have been resolved at latest halfway through Book 3.   3 Charms for this one.

Anyway, that’s enough vague hints, on to the other books!

543102

“You will rejoice to hear that no disaster has accompanied the commencement of an enterprise which you have regarded with such evil forebodings.”

Yes, forebodings is definitely a key word with Frankenstein.  Having only been familiar previously with the pop-culture Frankenstein perception, I’m finding reading the actual book fascinating.  I haven’t completed the book yet, but I’m quite enjoying all the twists and turns this novel is taking.  Full review to come with my Classics Challenge post at the end of the month!

6624391

“Heart pounding with fear and regret, Olivia Keene ran as though hellhounds were on her heels.  As though her very life depended on escape.”

The Silent Governess is one that has been on my list for quite a while.  I love Julie Klassen and will read anything she puts out.  I’m about halfway done with this one and it has reminded me a bit of Jane Eyre, in that she is a governess and a bit of an outcast for a while.  The comparisons don’t continue for very long, though, as this heroine is not plain, and as far as I can tell, no one commits suicide by jumping off any roofs.

And lastly…

10644930 “I have never been what you’d call a crying man.”

I’ll admit, I’ve only just cracked the cover on this one, but with a first line like that, how could I resist?  I am glad various reading challenges have pushed me into this one finally.  I can’t wait to get into it more and really see what it’s all about!

 

What have you started (or finished!) this week?  Let’s us know in the comments below!

Serenity

2 thoughts on “Book Beginnings on Fridays

  1. I’m now nearly halfway through the Stephen King – it’s very good. I have had to really resist flicking through to the end to see what happens though. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it when you get into it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

