2015 Book Survey – Booktiger

Here is my survey for 2015, thanks to The Perpetual Page Turner

215 READING STATS

Number Of Books You Read: 204
Number of Re-Reads: 7
Genre You Read The Most From: Probably crime fiction

BEST IN BOOKS

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
This was really my introduction to fantasy/paranormal and I was so blown away by it that it still gives me shivers just thinking about it.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Joyland – Stephen King
Normally King’s books are just fabulous, but I found that this one didn’t really go anywhere and, except for being an OK coming-of-age story, nothing else really happened.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Magic Bites – Ilona Andrews
Surprising because it convinced me that I love paranormal romance. If you’d suggested that to me at the beginning of the year, I would have laughed in your face.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Still Life – P.B. Ryan
I gave it to my Mum (who read it) who gave it to my sister-in-law (who read it) who gave it to her friend…

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Kate Daniels, without a doubt. Goes without saying really.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Ilona Andrews and Maggie Stiefvater. I’m getting a bit repetitive here, aren’t I?

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

In the middle of 2015, I had to ask someone what M/M meant. I had no idea what it was and even after finding out I didn’t think it would be the kind of thing I’d like. But I saw a load of people reading and rating Cut & Run by Abigail Roux and Madeline Urban highly, so towards the end of the year I gave it a try. And I loved it! Ty and Zane were fantastic characters and the romance was hot. Bring it on!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Pet Semetary – Stephen King
Despite this being a re-read for me, the last time I read it I was 16 years old (which is a LONG time ago). It was just as spooky, just as thrilling and just as unputdownable as I remembered it.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Magic Bites – Ilona Andrews
Now that I am moving on with the series, I would like to go back and re-read it as the world building was almost too much for me first time around. I think I’d appreciate it a whole lot more on the second reading.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

The Lollipop Shoes – Joanne Harris

lollipopshoes

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

I’d have to say Rhage from Lover Eternal by J.R. Ward. Yum. He could park his slippers under my bed any day 🙂

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

The Scorpio Races – Maggie Stiefvater
Maggie Stiefvater has an uncanny ability to write exquisite, natural prose and her dialogue is just incredible.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets – David Simon
What really made you think with this book was how few homicides ever really get solved and how cheap life can be.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?

Am I allowed to say Magic Bites again? Or perhaps Soulless by Gail Carrigher. Both were fantastic and I can’t believe I had made it to 2015 without either of them in my reading life.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“Paintings developed a certain splodginess – critical term – so that they barely resembled what they were meant to be. Someone signed a urinal, and it all went mad.”

Us – David Nicholl
The truth was, I wasn’t actually that keen on the book, but chapter 39, entitled “a Brief History of Art” was a single paragraph which virtually summed up my entire art history degree and art history masters in 22 lines. I liked the book just for that I think.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest book was The Lover by Marguerite Duras at 117 pages and longest was Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets by David Simon at 673 pages.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Alex – Pierre LeMaitre
It was shocking because it was so violent and the main character was so utterly messed up.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Cat and Bones in Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Monsignor Quixote and Sancho in Monsignor Quixote by Graham Greene.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Earthly Delights – Kerry Greenwood
I have read a few of her Phryne Fisher books before, but this was my first Corinna Chapman book and what can be bad about a sassy XXL MC who is a baker by trade but isn’t averse to a bit of leather and bondage to get information!

21. Best Book You Read In  2015 that You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
This was a book that I picked up during a team challenge called Quiddich. I even remember being in the bookshop and scoffing mildly to the sales person about how I wasn’t expecting much from it. Oh how wrong I was!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Curran. Grrrr.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

I really didn’t read enough new releases last year, and even fewer debut novels (something I am determined to rectify this year). But of the couple I did read I would say The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman was the best.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.
The world of the reds and the whites was so vividly painted and the palace was just amazing.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Princess Bride – William Goldman
…an oldie, but a goodie 🙂

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
I defy anyone to get through the book without at least a lump in your throat. It brings it on for me even just thinking about it.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Jewels: A Secret History – Victoria Finlay
Not only because it is about gems, but because it was just so fascinating. I love creative non-fiction and this was a perfect example of the genre.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

No Country for Old Men – Cormac McCarthy
If there was ever a book that demonstrated a need for gun control, this was it. So, so depressing.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

The Golem and The Djinni by Helene Wecker.
It was a rare, beautifully written stand-alone. So many books are series books nowadays (which is fine – I love series) but it was such an unusual story with a very satisfying ending.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Journey of the Universe – Mary Evelyn Tucker
It made me mad because I actually spent money on it, and it was just airy, fairy fluffy rubbish that left you thinking ‘huh????’.

BEST OF BLOGGING 2015

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Am I allowed to say Bookcharmers? Pah, whatever. Definitely Bookcharmers 🙂

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2015?

I’m afraid most of my reviews were succinct and not that fabulous in 2015 because I wasn’t blogging. I’ll be better this year, I promise.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

See above – same goes for this really.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I’m afraid I didn’t attend anything in 2015

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Being accepted to write for Bookcharmers. Thank you so much for having me, ladies!

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Not blogging! There were always the kids, or the wedding or the move to Australia or any one of a hundred other things that got in my way.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Neither are applicable in 2015 – 2016 here we come.

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I hate to say it, but my iPad which I got for my birthday last April. For the woman who said she would never read an eBook, I haven’t looked back. Mea culpa.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I do more challenges than I can possibly cope with over at Goodreads, but my main challenge was to read 150 books last year and I managed to achieve that and then some so I was pretty pleased with myself.

LOOKING AHEAD

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas
Actually, this is a bit of a cheat because I read it a couple of weeks ago, but that was still 2016!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas which is due out in May

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

You’ve lost me with this one – I so rarely read debuts and even though I’d like to read more, I am not at all au fait with what is on the horizon. My bad, I know.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

A Court of Mist and Fury again 🙂

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Resurrect my own blog at www.thebooktiger.org which I have been running since 2008 but which has been on something of a hiatus for a year or three.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone

I have a few to get read on NetGalley, but I haven’t finished any of them yet so I’ll have to get back to you on this one.

Hello 2016! Here we come…

Leave a Reply

