Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Challenge Part 1

A few weeks ago, Cuddlebuggery posted their challenge 2016, The Year We Defeat Our Backlist TBR. The ladies of Book Charmers have also decided to plan our hike up Mt. TBR.

Since we’re starting a bit later and we know we can be indecisive, we decided to do it a little differently. We are picking six books to be read the first half of the year and in July we will stop at the halfway point and pick up six more books for the second half of our journey. So what have we packed so far?

description

Shotanagini

Black Heart Loa: Bought this when Borders shut down
Black Heart Loa (Hoodoo, #2) by Adrian Phoenix

Hexed: Borrowed from a friend…..about 6 months ago…
Hexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #2) by Kevin Hearne

Dead Streets: Another Borders pick up
Dead Streets (Matt Richter #2) by Tim Waggoner

The Taking: Another Borders pick up
The Taking by Dean Koontz

Dead Boys: Library book I have had for months…
Dead Boys by Gabriel Squailia

Rebel Queen: Been on my tbr since it was published
Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran

 

description

Serenity

As a non-book-buyer finding six books on my shelves that I wanted to read in the next six months was a bit of a challenge for me. Being the stubborn, rule-follower that I am, I tried to find books that were not library books and actually ones that have been on my shelves for a while. Staring at me. You know the ones, we all have them.

I ended up going with two that fit my Classics Challenge (always good to double up!), two that are non-fiction and have been pushed back too often, and two that are borrowed from a friend.

Les Misérables and Jane Eyre are actually in progress at the moment, but they’ve been set aside for other books. Sad considering that I’ve been really enjoying both.

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions and Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer have been on my mental list of self-improvement books, and I just need the nudge to actually GET to them.

The Lady of the Rivers and The Red Queen I borrowed from a friend last year. Ummm, not a long way into last year either. Yes, I’m a bad friend, but now I’m trying to make them a priority so I can actually get them returned!

Cocktail Phoenix

The following are the books I chose as they have been sitting around for quite a while. For sure, there are some books on my shelf that have been sitting there for even longer than these, but the ones I picked are the ones I have actually been trying to read for a couple of months now without luck. So this is as good a chance as any to finally commit to making time for them!

The Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1) by Samantha Shannon
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – I can’t even remember when I bought this one, but it was some time over the course of last year. It sounded really interesting, so I bought it and I’ve been meaning to read it but.. well.. yeah, here we are.

The Wise Man's Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2) by Patrick Rothfuss
The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss is a book I started quite a while ago but never got further than the first chapter. Why? I can’t even remember. I assume that one of the reasons was the fact that it’s quite large and not easy to carry around with and lately I’ve taken to reading books I can throw into my bag and carry around with me. (There was a time where I actually used a larger bag just so I could fit larger books into them. Hm.) This is my attempt at finally getting back to Kvothe’s story, which I enjoyed a lot in The Name of the Wind.

The Archived (The Archived, #1) by Victoria Schwab
The Archived by Victoria Schwab is another one of those I came across that sounded superb and landed in my basket but that I still haven’t gotten around to reading since I bought it some time over the course of late spring last year.

Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1) by Rachel Caine
Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine has been sitting on my soon-to-be read pile since August last year.

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1) by Genevieve Cogman
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman – same story as above really. I’m starting to sound like a broken record!

Seelenangst (Clara Vidalis, #2) by Veit Etzold
Seelenangst by Sebastian Fitzek has been on my nightstand since July last year. A co-worker gave it to me after she finished it, totally thrilled by the story and she told me that I absolutely had to read this. So I should probably finally do that!

Reesiereads

Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales – Received this for Christmas and have yet to crack it open. I keep saying I want to read one story every week. I may not finish this in 2016 but I would like to put a dent in it.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – The only Harry Potter book I have not finished. I got about halfway through it before I just put it down and forgot about it. When book 6 came out, I wasn’t in the mood to read this one so I skipped it and same goes for when book 7 came out. This year, I want to read the entire series again, including this one this time.

The Scarecrow – This is book two in a duo. I read book one, The Poet, a few years ago but never got around to this one. I loved the MC in this set so I really want to read this one.

Hummingbird Lake – This is book two in a series and I have not read book one yet, but I wanted to start with this one for a few reasons. One reason is that I liked the plot of this one better than the first one. The other reason is kind of silly and probably shallow but a few years ago I took an online quiz where I answered some questions to find out who my romance novel love interest would be. The guy in this book won so I want to read about him and see if I would agree.

The Chosen – I picked this up at my aunt’s when I was looking through all of her books, deciding which ones to bring home. I had heard good things about this author’s other book, My Name Is Asher Lev, which I have not read.

Key of Valor – The final book in a trilogy. I read the first two books, Key of Light and Key of Knowledge last year so I really should finish out the trilogy. It has become one of my favorite Nora Roberts trilogies. I hope I like the way everything wraps up!

Want to join us? Post below and let us know what you’re packing. Also, check back tomorrow to see what the other three members have chosen.

2 thoughts on “Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Challenge Part 1

  1. Pingback: Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Challenge Part 2 | Book Charmers

  2. Pingback: Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR First Half Thoughts | Book Charmers

Leave a Reply

