Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Challenge Part 2

As introduced yesterday, here is the second half of our Mt. TBR challenge with picks from the rest of our group.

Image and video hosting by TinyPicBook Tiger

Broken Nation: Australians in the Great War by Joan Beaumont
My Dad lent me this and I always feel bad if I haven’t returned books read. I am really interested in this though as it is really pertinent to my PhD application so I need to get it read.

Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose
I started this book when I first bought it, years ago, but put it down and haven’t picked it up since. It’s about time I got it finished (although it has been so long that I will need to restart it)

Hang-Ups: Essays on Art by Simon Schama
I love Simon Schama’s writing and I bought this book a while back as I have had it on my TBR for several years.

The Spare Room by Helen Garner
This is yet another book that has been on my TBR for years and it was only when I arrived back in Australia that I discovered my Mum had it on her shelves.

The 2 1/2 Pillars of Wisdom by Alexander McCall Smith
Another ‘borrowed’ book, this time from my sister-in-law. She and I don’t necessarily have the same tastes, but I do like to read what she’s recommended. This is apparently and old one but a good one.

The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason by Sam Harris
I think this book has been number 1 on my TBR for years. I think I added it back in 2008. I have pulled it out to read for challenges, then put it away again, then brought it out again. Just read it already!

Sally906

5 of the six books I plan to read over the next six months are earmarked to read during my upcoming trip to Europe this Easter – almost 20 hours of flying – 40 if you count the return trip! It is very hard resisting them – but less than 8 weeks and they’re all mine!

Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich – I have loved the Stephanie Plum series ever since book 1. It has become a bit of a tradition that I read her latest release whenever I fly on holidays.

Wicked Charms by Janet Evanovich – this is another series that is a spin off from the Stephanie Plum series. This has a bit of a magical edge.

Invaded by Melissa Landers – the second in the trilogy, a fun YA Science Fiction with a large dose of romance.

Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs – a paranormal mystery, with a married werewolf couple and an evil fairy. Ok sounds trite – but it is actually quite edgy!

A Ghoul’s Guide to Love and Murder by Victoria Laurie – I am broken hearted that this book is the last book in the series. Victoria Laurie never lets me down with her witty and scary mysteries. I know I be laughing my head off as I read this 🙂

An Ordinary Epidemic by Amanda Hickie – not a holiday read, will be reading this in February for a reading challenge. An Australian author and set in Sydney Australia this looks at one family and how they protect themselves against an epidemic that is killing thousands.

Lioness
Shatterglass: I’m still working on my Tamora Pierce readthrough and this is next up. I’m excited to see what Tris has been up to and finish off the Circle Opens quartet.

Rebel Queen: I always like a good historical and will be reading this for an event on the blog.

Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded: I picked this up at a Borders closing sale. In 2010.

The Exiled Queen: I had always heard great things about this series and I read The Demon King in 2014. I enjoyed it and need to continue this series.

The Winner’s Crime: Something about the first book just captured me and I loved it. The final book is out soon and I’d like to get caught up.

The Providence of Fire: I’ve talked much more about reading this book instead of actually reading it. I’d like to fix that.

Shatterglass (The Circle Opens, #4) by Tamora PierceRebel Queen by Michelle MoranKrakatoa The Day the World Exploded by Simon WinchesterThe Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) by Cinda Williams ChimaThe Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy, #2) by Marie RutkoskiThe Providence of Fire (Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, #2) by Brian Staveley

What Mt. TBR books are you planning on reading?

 

One thought on “Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Challenge Part 2

  1. Pingback: Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR First Half Thoughts | Book Charmers

Leave a Reply

