February Book Beginnings

BB.Button

Once again I’ll be joining Rose City Reader for her Book Beginnings on Fridays!

It’s been a few weeks since I was able to get this going, but I’m excited to be doing this once again!

So, here are the books that I’ve been working on this last week:

27794073“Derek moved fast on quiet feet.  The bartender downstairs, a stocky woman with hard eyes and a harder jaw, hadn’t heard him.”

One of my goals for this year was to read more new releases, and you will see a few of those in this post.  The first is Magic Stars by Ilona Andrews.  It’s a short novella about Derek and Julie, and if your a Kate Daniels fan, you know that any extra info on Derek is always a must read!  And it’s from Derek’s POV!

Plus, bonus!  This is listed as “Grey Wolf: Book One”, so there will be more to come! 4 Charms

25817407 “It’s funny the things you hold on to, the things you remember when everything ends.”

My next attempt at a 2016 release turned out to be a re-release.  The Siren was written prior to The Selection by Kiera Cass, but has been recently re-leased due to Cass’ new popularity thanks to The Selection series.  Having read both, I could definitely tell that this was written earlier.  The story was sweet, but didn’t have the depth in the characters that I was hoping for initially. 3 Charms

28267873“A handful of peasants carried an open casket on their shoulders while the remainder followed sobbing and chanting.”

This is the first line of my very first ARC (Advanced Reader Copy), Lions in the Garden.  I’m super excited to get to read and review it here in a few more days.  It’s been an interesting read so far as it’s probably the first ever YA historical fiction I’ve read.  Most YA tends to go fantasy/paranormal, but this is strictly historical.  I’ll save the rest for my official review :).

12873“Last night I dreamt I went to 636993Manderley again.  It seemed to me I stood by the iron gate leading to the drive, and for a while I could not enter, for the way had been barred to me.”

I have just barely cracked the cover on Rebecca, but it is one that I need to spend some time getting into as it is my Classic for the month!  I’ll review it in that post, but I did want to point out that instead of that wonderful Gothic cover at the left, I ended up with this strange cover on the right…Just doesn’t seem to fit to me…

This is what I’ve been reading this week.  How about you?  Start anything exciting?  Let me know in the comments!

Happy Reading!

Serenity

One thought on “February Book Beginnings

  1. All of these are great choices – i’m behind on the Kate Daniel’s series but need to catch up so I can read Derreck’s book and I too am very excited they are doing a spinoff. I need to read Rebecca – love the movie and my mom has read the book and said it’s much better! Here’s my Friday meme

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

