Classics Challenge -March Update

Classics

The Classics Challenge is hosted by You, Me and a Cup of Tea and the March theme was: A classic you’ve been recommended.

So what did we think of the books we picked for this month?

Serenity: This month I tried to read  The Catcher in the Rye. Tried, as in did not finish, failed to complete, could. not. get. it. done. Basically, what I’m trying to say is that I did not like this book!

Our main character, Holden, is the narrator of the story and the book follows his thought process in a stream of consciousness type of style. Following around an angsty, somewhat depressed, teenage boy was not something I could handle this month. I got flashes of why people could love this book and think it is a classic. Holden definitely had some points where I could see the hurt that he was hiding even from himself, and from the reviews I’ve read he may even make some strides in handling things. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t hold out long enough to find out because of the disjointed flow of the writing. Again, being inside a teenage boy’s head for 200+ pages was not for me at this point. I have enough moods and emotions of my own, lol!

Sadly, this book only earned one charm from me as I just could not get through it.

510717029230

Cocktail Phoenix: Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice was on the menu for me this month. It’s a book I’ve heard a lot about and was often told that I should read it, so finally, finally I picked it up.

Going into the book, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I’ve only read one Austen before and I was not very fond of Northanger Abbey. Story-wise, despite the talk of P&P, I was actually fairly clueless as to what the plot was about, except for the fact that they were all going to end up happily married in the end – it is Jane Austen after all and while I haven’t read many of her books, that much I know.

I was pleasantly surprised by the story and the characters. The writing required concentration at times but I found it worth it because the story kept me grinning – Mrs Bennet and Lady Catherine made me face twitch on a regular basis – and wondering what was going to happen next. There was more action than I anticipated as well.

I liked the various ways in which women were portrayed in the book, never quite the same while still trying to adhere at least a minimum to the conventions of their time. Even Elizabeth, who was the wildcard amongst the women, still fit the form of the woman who wants to be married to a good husband and mistress of a nice house, though she was far less willing to accept anything she didn’t see fit for herself and didn’t let anyone beat her down.

All in all, I gave the book 4 charms.
Thanks for pushing me to finally read this, Serenity! 😉

https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1402671844l/746967.jpg1702923017029242descriptiondescription

And if you’re curious about what we’re going to be up to next month… then check back here this weekend!

2 thoughts on “Classics Challenge -March Update

Leave a Reply

