Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR First Half Thoughts

At the end of January, our group got together and decided to tackle twelve books that had been sitting on our shelves. Each of us picked six books to be read over the first half of the year. Our picks were here and here.

Today we will check in on how the first half of the year went and later we will reveal our picks for the second half.

Lioness:
My initial list of picks was Shatterglass, Rebel Queen, Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded, The Exiled Queen, The Winner’s Crime, and The Providence of Fire. I was a bit worried when June started and I had three books left to go. But I prioritized those books and finished on Saturday. The Winner’s Crime was my favorite, despite being last. I had planned on starting it on Saturday and marked it as currently reading on Goodreads. But then it got late and I had not started yet, I was in bed and figured I should read at least a few chapters. About a hundred pages in I realized I was not going to stop. I finished at 11:59pm.

Serenity:
Part 1 Progress:

The Red Queen – Should be finished by the end of the month
The Lady of the Rivers
Les Misérables
Jane Eyre – 4/30/16*****
Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer – 3/31/16***
Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions – 6/23/16****

Not too bad considering that I put them off for so long! Les Mis is still sitting there being intimidating, though… I may need to break that monster down into chunks to force myself to read a little bit at a time!

Sally906:
I managed to read 5 out of the 6 books on my TBR pile I planned to read in the first half of the year. These are the 5 that I read:

Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich – 4★s
Wicked Charms by Janet Evanovich – 3★s
Invaded by Melissa Landers – 5★s
Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs – 5★s
A Ghoul’s Guide to Love and Murder by Victoria Laurie – 5★s

Cocktail Phoenix:

Ok so I was slacking a bit on this Mount TBR Pile challenge.

I read the two books that really spoke to me (because they were about books) and then I somehow neglected the rest of my list completely.

The two books I’ve read were:
Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1) by Rachel Caine and The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library, #1) by Genevieve Cogman.
While they both had a really interesting premise and started out well, it was only Ink and Bone that kept up the standard it set with the first few chapters.

At least in my opinion, The Invisible Library was sorely lacking in certain areas and didn’t produce as good a story as I was hoping for. I might still pick up the second one, merely because I’m curious, but I’m not sure about that yet.

Paper and Fire, the sequel to Ink and Bone, is definitely a book I’m going to pick up! And luckily, I won’t even have to wait all too long as it is supposed to be published beginning of July.

The books I didn’t get to:
The Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1) by Samantha Shannon The Archived (The Archived, #1) by Victoria Schwab The Wise Man's Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2) by Patrick Rothfuss Seelenangst (Clara Vidalis, #2) by Veit Etzold
One day soon, I hope, though I already know that I’m most likely going to keep pushing them back to read other books instead. I’m not sure why exactly, but I’m pretty sure that is what’s going to happen.

 Shotanagini:
Okay…I officially suck..

Black Heart Loa, bought this when Borders shut down
Black Heart Loa (Hoodoo, #2) by Adrian Phoenix Completed 2/2/16 4 stars

Hexed borrowed from a friend…..about 6 months ago…
Hexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #2) by Kevin Hearne DNF-Returned

Dead Streets, another Borders pick up
Dead Streets (Matt Richter #2) by Tim Waggoner

The Taking, another Borders pick up
The Taking by Dean Koontz

Dead Boys, library book I have had for months…
Dead Boys by Gabriel Squailia

Rebel Queen, been on my tbr since it was published
Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran completed 2/13/16 4 stars

One thought on “Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR First Half Thoughts

  1. I failed. I think I maybe read one of my books. And I failed at even participating in this update. My reading mood has done a 180 since January, as I knew it would, so if I’m going to add books for the next six months, I might as well just add the next six books I plan to read because I know it’ll happen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

