Book Charmers 2016 Mt. TBR Second Half Plans

Today we reveal our picks for the rest of the year!

Sally906:

sally books

This one I didn’t get around to – but still plan to read so will go into my 6 books for the second half:
An Ordinary Epidemic by Amanda Hickie An Ordinary Epidemic by Amanda Hickie – Written by an Australian author and set in Sydney Australia this looks at one family and how they protect themselves against an epidemic that is killing thousands.

The remaining five are:
City of Jasmine by Deanna Raybourn City of Jasmine by Deanna Raybourn
Evangeline Starke is a widow – her husband husband Gabriel suddnely die when the Lusitania sank. Five years later, beginning to embrace life again, Evie is shocked to receive a mysterious—and recent—photograph of Gabriel alive and well in the Middle East.

Brownies and Broomsticks (A Magical Bakery Mystery, #1) by Bailey Cates Brownies and Broomsticks by Bailey Cates – Katie Lightfoot is asked by her grandparents – Lucy and Ben to join them when they open a bakery in Savannah’s quaint downtown district, Doesn’t take Katie long to see that her aunt is adding mysterious herbs to her recipes. Turns out these herbal enhancements aren’t just tasty—Aunt Lucy is a witch and her recipes are actually spells! Then a curmudgeonly customer is murdered outside the Honeybee Bakery, and Uncle Ben becomes the prime suspect.

A Vintage Murder (A Wine Lover's Mystery, #4) by Michele Scott A Vintage Murder by Michele Scott – Nikki and her boss-turned-boyfriend came to Australia to visit the Hahndorf Winery, but it seems they’ve also walked onto a movie set. And when lead actress Lucy Swanson is found dead in her trailer, bitten by a poisonous snake, Nikki must comb the vineyards of the valley to catch a killer with a venomous streak before she’s struck herself!

The Ghost and Mrs. Muir by R.A. Dick The Ghost and Mrs. Muir by Josephine Leslie – I loved the TV series – and the movie – and was delighted to learn there was a book that that came first – recently widowed Lucy Muir insists on moving into the very cheap Gull Cottage in the quaint seaside village of Whitecliff, despite multiple warnings that the house is haunted.

Woof at the Door (Call of the Wilde #1) by Laura Morrigan Woof at the Door by Laura Morrigan – Animal behaviorist Grace Wilde keeps her ability to psychically communicate with furry and feathered critters under wraps. But when a Doberman turns out to be the only witness to a crime, Grace will have to let the cat out of the bag in order to catch a killer. Only Grace can get the information out of him. The problem is, how will Grace tell the investigating police officer that it’s the dog who’s giving her the information without spilling her big secret or sounding crazy?

Cocktail Phoenix:

For the second half of the year, I’m going to start by trying to actually read at least one or two of the books I neglected in the first half of the year.

Other than that, these are the six books I chose for July-December 2016:

Shopaholic and Sister (Shopaholic, #4) by Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic and Sister by Sophie Kinsella – It is actually somewhat ridiculous how long this book (and most of the series really) has been sitting on my shelf, unread. It is high time I change that!

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1) by Patrick Ness
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – I received this for World Book Night 2013 from a friend and I still haven’t read it. Even before she offered me the book, I’ve been told numerous times to read it, so here goes. I put it on the list in hopes of finally reading it this year.

Gone (Gone, #1) by Michael Grant
Gone by Michael Grant – Another one that has been sitting around for quite a while and deserves to finally be read. Especially since I keep hearing good things about the series.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1) by Ransom Riggs
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – I’m ashamed to say that I won this book in a giveaway, an actual paperback copy, and I still haven’t read it!

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Help by Kathryn Stockett – Ever since I saw the movie I’ve wanted to read the book. About time I actually do what I say hehe.

Blood Cross (Jane Yellowrock, #2) by Faith Hunter
Blood Cross by Faith Hunter – I read the first book quite a while ago but never continued the series despite the fact that I really quite liked the characters and the story. Now is the time to continue!

Lioness:

books.jpg
The Heart of Myrial – I picked it up randomly as a teenager because it had a dragon on the cover.

The Gray Wolf Throne – Continuing the Seven Realms series this year. I’m not sure if I’ll get to the fourth book, but I’m making sure I read this one.

Cadillac Desert: The American West and Its Disappearing Water – Another non-fiction that has been sitting on my shelf for a while.

The Winner’s Kiss and The Last Mortal Bond – I’m pairing these two since I have the same comments. I read the middle book of the trilogy in our first half and loved it so I’m looking forward to finishing up both series.

Mastiff – I skipped over this one for a reason. I chose Shatterglass in the first half as part of my Tamora Pierce reread. Right now I have one more Emelan book (Battle Magic) before moving to her Tortall universe. Mastiff is the most recent published and I’ve never read any of the Provost’s Dog trilogy it belongs to so they will be last on my reread list. But before getting there I have to read 16 books. But finishing that reread was one of my big 2016 reading goals so I’m committed to it.

The Heart of Myrial by Maggie Furey The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms, #3) by Cinda Williams Chima Cadillac Desert The American West and Its Disappearing Water by Marc Reisner The Winner's Kiss (The Winner's Trilogy, #3) by Marie Rutkoski The Last Mortal Bond (Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, #3) by Brian Staveley Mastiff (Beka Cooper, #3) by Tamora Pierce

Serenity:
Again, I’ve broken them up by twos.

Religion/personal growth:
The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears
Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul

Homeschooling:
Love the Journey: Homeschooling: Principles to Practices
For the Children’s Sake: Foundations of Education for Home and School

Fiction:
Beauty
The Tale of Despereaux

 

Leave a Reply

