July 5: Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads

img_0003

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. And it’s usually on Tuesdays instead of Thursdays. But I was  bit busy with the holiday and work and I really wanted to put a post together for this topic, our top ten books with under 2,000 ratings on Goodreads.

From Cocktail Phoenix:

Rising Calm (Rising Calm #1) by Haley Fisher by Haley Fisher (39 ratings)
I got this one for free from the author in exchange for an honest review about a year ago and I really enjoyed it.
The thing is that for the moment it is out of print (publisher taken over by a different company) and she is stuck on the sequel, which is a bit of a shame, but might be worth giving this a mention.

Way to Go by Alan Spence by Alan Spence (115 ratings)
I had to read this for a course at uni, and Alan Spence was the resident author at my uni at the time (I’m still gutted I never worked up the courage to burst into his office hours to ask him for an autograph haha). It’s been a long time since I’ve read this book but I thoroughly enjoyed the main character’s journey. It’s a story that revolves a lot around death, the different ways it is seen in various cultures and how it is celebrated (or not).

Spirit Legacy (The Gateway Trilogy, #1) by E.E. Holmes by E.E. Holmes (1152 ratings)
I picked this one up as a free Amazon deal and I was pleasantly surprised by how it turned out. The story is interesting and not quite as YA as most YA, i.e. less whining, which is preferable, for me anyway.

The Wishing Game by Patrick Redmond by Patrick Redmond (759 ratings)
I read this as a teenager when I stumbled across it by chance. I have to admit that I don’t remember much about the story, but I do remember that it did a great job at creeping me out more than once while reading it.

The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard (Coco Pinchard, #1) by Robert Bryndza by Robert Bryndza (1749 ratings)
Quirky, funny read.

From Serenity:

Ashenden by Elizabeth Wilhide by Elizabeth Wilhide (812 ratings)
This is a book where the main “character” is the house. It’s a lovely read that’s a bit strange, but I loved it!

From Lioness:

To Ride Hell’s Chasm by Janny Wurts by Janny Wurts (967 ratings)
She is a new author to me, but has been in the fantasy world for years. To Ride Hell’s Chasm is a standalone that was recommended to me as a good place to start. Standalone books in fantasy are a rarity and this did not disappoint. It took me a bit to get into, but I loved it. Her book Sorcerer’s Legacy has 489 ratings and I have heard good things about, but haven’t read yet.

The Girl Who Would Be King by Kelly Thompson by Kelly Thompson (1,420 ratings)
This one also started a bit slow, but got better and better as it went on. It features two young woman who are the latest in a long line of rival women with powers. One good, one bad. I loved it.

Pacific Rim The Official Movie Novelization by Alex Irvine by Alex Irvine (1,511 ratings)
In case you weren’t sure if I was a nerd. This book took the story of Pacific Rim and brought in the backstory of the characters and world. I cannot wait for the sequel.

Once Upon a Marquess (The Worth Saga #1) by Courtney Milan by Courtney Milan (1,556 ratings)
This may be lowly rated because it only came out last fall. It is the first in a new romance series by Courtney Milan. The goodreads summary for the series has seven full-length novels planned with covers and titles for all of them. I enjoyed the first one and am looking forward to and impatient for the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

