At Close Range by Laura Griffin

at-close-range

5 Stars!  I absolutely love this series – each one has unforgettable characters, intense chemistry, a rock solid suspense plot, and a great mix of romance and suspense all wrapped up with great pacing and plenty of twists and turns!

At Close Range is the 11th book in the Tracers series and while it can be read as a stand alone some of the characters have been introduced in earlier books. This is one of the best romantic suspense series available so if you haven’t started it you’ll want to and if you have you won’t be disappointed with the 11th book!

I have always been intrigued with Scott Black the ballistics expert at the Delphi Center so I was excited that he was going to be the main character in this book.

This book centers around Scott Black, the Delphi Center’s ballistics expert and former Navy Seal who I have to admit I’ve been intrigued with for awhile and Daniele (Dani) a police detective who comes from a family of law enforcement officers. Dani is the lead detective on a homicide and is hoping to avoid Scott. Scott is Dani’s brother’s best friend and ever since they shared a scorching kiss on New Year’s Eve they have been avoiding each other. When Scott is called to the scene of the crime he and Dani realize they will be working together – that is until Scott ends up being a suspect for the murder.

I loved that Dani and Scott had a history together and their chemistry was explosive. Scott wants Dani but he doesn’t want her to get hurt and he doesn’t have a good history in the relationship department. Dani is sure Scott isn’t guilty but her team is worried that she is letting her history and feelings for Scott cloud her judgement. She needs to remain unbiased and getting involved with Scott right now would be a bad idea.

When it becomes obvious that this case is a lot more complicated and someone targets Dani, Scott realizes that not only does he need to find the real killer to prove his own innocence but he also to keep Dani safe.

I loved both Scott and Dani in this book. We learn a lot more about Scott and he is perfectly paired with Dani. Both characters are intense, likable and intelligent. Dani has a strong personality but is willing to take advice and never makes any TSTL decisions. The suspense/police procedural aspects of this book are thrilling, believable and keep you on the edge of your seat. The mix between romance and suspense is spot on.

I couldn’t put this book down and the twists and turns just kept coming. The romance was weaved perfectly into a fast paced and crazy suspense plot that kept me guessing throughout the book. This book had me hooked and when I finished it I was completely satisfied and yet a little sad that I had finished it because I enjoyed it so much.

I highly recommend this book to all romance, suspense and mystery fans – you can’t go wrong.  I give this book 5 charms!

 

1702923017029242170292711702928217029293

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

