Crossing Hearts by Kimberly Kincaid

31340899  Crossing Hearts is a sweet and charming small town romance with engaging characters and a second chance romance.

Hunter Cross is a wonderful hero who can’t help but capture your heart immediately. He loves working on his families farm with his two brothers and his dad and he loves his small town and everything about it. He’s never wanted anything more except his high school girlfriend who he thought would be with him forever until she left breaking his heart. Emerson left the small town and Hunter behind and never came back. She went on to be a physical therapist to an NFL football team but when she was diagnosed with MS she had to leave her dream behind and return to her small town.

Cross Creek was a charming small town with wonderful characters that I couldn’t help loving and if I was ever going to live in a small town I’d want it to be like Cross Creek. The farming aspects were well integrated and interesting without being too much as was the information on MS. The pacing was done well and I liked that although Hunter and Emerson were attracted to each other from the beginning it took time for them to rebuild their trust in each other. What I did have a harder time with was Emerson’s reason for leaving. Although I could somewhat understand it the fact that she kept it from Hunter didn’t really ring true. I’ve never liked the “I did what was best for you” and made a decision affecting you without letting you know trope and I didn’t like it in this book. I also wasn’t crazy about Emerson’s reaction to Hunter’s “help” and her pushing him away again. Although I thought that the emotions and fear she was dealing with as she learned to accept her disease were incredibly well written. I just wish Hunter didn’t have to do the groveling at the end since he was ultimately the one who was left not once but twice.

I loved the secondary characters and the conflict between Hunter’s brothers grabbed me and held on. I can’t wait to find out what that is all about and I look forward to reading the books about them.

I’d give it 3 1/2 charms.

170292301702924217029271

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

