Top Ten Paranormal/Fantasy Romance Books

img_0003-1

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the AFGyspySoul.  This week’s topic is what are the best paranormal/fantasy romance books.

It’s so hard to narrow it down my favorite PNR/UF books and what I figured out is that they all belong to a series. I have read some amazing PNR/UF series and sometimes it was even harder to figure out which book I liked the most in that series. If you haven’t started any of these series – I highly recommend them. If you have did you have a different favorite book? Is there a PNR/UF series or book that you have as your favorite that isn’t listed? If so, drop me a comment and let me know.

22891495  10.  Shadows Strike Book #6 from The Immortal Guardians by Dianne Duvall

This is a series that I think has definitely gotten better as it goes along. This is hands down the best book in the series. Interesting enough the action is the main plot and the romance is secondary but it worked perfectly. The plot was very well developed but the romance was still integral.

8788554-1  9.  First Grave on the Right Book #1 from Charley Davidson by Darynda Jones

This series is really funny and Charley is a very quirky character who at times has frustrated me but I still enjoy the series.  I loved the first book.  Charley is so different and I was really fascinated and intrigued with Reyes.  The secondary characters really add to the book and when I finished it I couldn’t wait for the next one.

7942786  8.  Fair Game Book #3 from The Alpha and the Omega by Patricia Briggs

I love Charles and Anna and this book had a ton of excitement and suspense and the ending left me saying “holy shit!”

7304203  7.  Shadowfever Book #5 from Fever by Karen Marie Moning

To be honest, I stopped reading this series but I LOVED the first five books.  This was one of those series where I had a really hard time picking which was my favorite although I thought 3-5 were better than 1 and 2 and don’t get me started on 6 and after!  I finally went with five because it wrapped up a lot of questions I had and there were so many twists and turns along the way.

24733803  6.  Deception Book #9 from Vampires in America by D.B. Reynolds

This book takes us back to Raphael and Cynthia. I think the thing I loved the most about this book was that it was Raphael in danger and depending on his human mate to save him. The fact that he had complete faith in her and to see her outwit the vampires was perfect. It also kicked off the beginning of the vampire war and left me eager for the books to come.

6582637  5.  Archangel’s Kiss Book #2 from Guild Hunter by Nalini Singh

After the explosive ending of the first book I couldn’t wait to see what would happen with Raphael and Elena. This relationship is one of the most interesting and intense relationships I’ve read about. Raphael is such an Alpha male and so much older and experienced then Elena but she is able to hold her own and I love the two of them together. The politics in this book added a very interesting element.

17562900  4.  Night Broken Book #8 from Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs

This is one of the those series where I had trouble picking a favorite. I like that Mercy and Adam are established in this book and that there are a lot shapeshifter politics that come into play. The characters aren’t perfect in this one and Adam made some frustrating choices but I never doubted his love/loyalty to Mercy. We had lots of intense battles along with some humor in this book and an ending I loved!

8712343 15781026 3. Kiss of Snow Book #10 and Heart of Obsidian Book #12 from Psy-Changeling by Nalini Singh (I know this is two books but I just couldn’t choose between the two).  

I’ve re-read both of these several times and although they are very different I loved them both.  Hawk and Sienna are two of my favorite characters and the most anticipated book in the series for me. It didn’t disappoint and was everything I expected and more. Heart of Obsidian is the 13th book and was about Kaleb and he is one of the most intriguing characters in the series. This book made me cry and left me sighing.

9637479 2.  Dragon Bound Book #1 from The Elder Races by Thea Harrison

I have really enjoyed the rest of the series but the first one is still my favorite. This book had some great laugh out loud moments, lots of action, interesting characters I fell in love with and the beginning of an incredible romance.  Dragos and Pia are two of my all time favorite characters.

4345498  1.  Magic Strikes Book #3 from Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews

I love this series!  I was late getting started with it and once I read it I couldn’t figure out why I waited so long.  Then I gave a copy of the book to my niece, my mom and my dad and got them hooked on the series as well.   I love every book but this is the one that had me hooked! It had some of the funniest moments I have read along with a ton of action and the chemistry between Kate and Curran is amazing!

 

A few more books that were very close to making my top ten list:

84145   1421990  24473763  8105616  justice-ascending

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

