Gone by Elisabeth Naughton

31295327

Gone is the second book in Elisabeth Naughton’s Deadly Secrets series but can easily be read as a stand alone. This romantic suspense book deals with a tragic plot, characters with plenty of flaws but that are ultimately likable and willing to keep fighting and growing and a suspense story with plenty of twists and turns.

Alec and Reagan are the main characters of this book and they are dealing with a horrific experience of dealing with their daughter’s abduction. Their daughter was abducted three years prior to the beginning of this book and that abduction led to their divorce. The sense of tragedy grips the reader from the first page and doesn’t let go. Both Alec and Reagan are still dealing with the repercussions of the abduction. Alec is alcoholic and turned to drinking when his daughter was taken while he was with her at the park. He blames himself and that along with other issues from his past has led him to a destructive place in his life. Reagan has tried to move forward and believes that her daughter is still alive. When the couple is reunited at the hospital when another little girl who was abducted is found alive they end up working together to try to get to the bottom of a series of child abductions.

This book definitely pulls on your heartstrings and although the topic is a tough one to read about the author did a great job of making sure the reader understood and sympathized with the challenges, guilt and bad decisions of the main characters as they dealt with their horror, guilt, fear, sorrow and loss. Alec is a deeply flawed character who turned away from and hurt is ex-wife at a time when she needed him most but his behavior was human and I found his character fascinating. Reagan was the stronger of the two and not quite as well developed. As the two work together they begin to find their way back to each other and begin to heal.

The mystery took a few twists and turns along the way although the villain is obvious throughout most of the book. I found this book heartbreaking and dark and although it ultimately showed courage and healing I can’t see myself wanting to read it again.  I give this book 3 Charms.

170292301702924217029271

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

