M/M Monday

22267616

Hell & High Water is a fun and interesting book with well developed characters and a ton of humor. It isn’t often that I finish a book and can’t wait to dive into the next book but this is definitely one of those books!

I loved the world in this series. It actually seemed almost more science fiction than paranormal for me and I found the premise fascinating. The author gives us just enough information to help us understand this alternate reality but not too much to overwhelm. I was hooked from the opening scene and the book just got better as it went along. I believed the conflict between the Therians and the humans and could picture a world just like this one.

The opening chapter gave us Dex’s character and right off the bat I liked him and sympathized with him. However, his character ended up being completely different than the opening chapter led me to believe. I loved his sense of humor, irreverence and contagious joy. There were plenty of laugh out loud moments for me. I also liked how Dex was able to help his team start to heal and how they couldn’t help but start to accept and like him.

Sloan took me longer to warm up to but was still a great character. He is more the typical Alpha male who has buried his pain. Sloan was the complete opposite of Dex and yet the two worked well together. It was fun to see Dex drive Sloan crazy and yet help him to start living again. Sloan is all about control and Dex brings chaos to his life, yet he can’t help but like Dex. Of course both are great at their jobs and the also respect each other. The romance between Dex and Sloan was a slow burn and that was perfect for these two characters. I’m so glad they didn’t jump to immediate I love yous. Sloan just began to open up and was still dealing with his loss so the slow burn was perfect and the two had plenty of chemistry together which just has me anticipating the evolution of their relationship.

This book also had great secondary characters. I enjoyed the entire team and I’m looking forward to getting to know them more. We were given just enough information on each character to really like them and want more. I enjoyed the dynamic on the team and the sense of camaraderie they had together and I look forward to more of this and further developments with the secondary characters.

The mystery/suspense wasn’t much of a mystery to me and I had the villain pegged right away. I did enjoy that the author gave us a reason for his behavior and while I might not find it rational it was believable in that people do react in crazy ways like he did. So while the suspense didn’t captivate me I loved everything else about this book so much I really didn’t care.

Overall, this book has everything I’m looking for and I can’t wait to dive into the next one!  I highly recommend this book and give it 5 Charms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

