Guarding Mr. Fine Review

31869244Guarding Mr. Fine is the 3rd book in the Tough Love Series by HelenKay Dimon and can easily be read as a stand alone (I did). This book opens with the two main characters locking eyes across a crowded bar and a very hot, no-names hookup.

The next part has Seth Lang arriving in Munich to be the bodyguard of the U.S. consul general. Seth isn’t happy about this assignment and thinks of it as glorified babysitting. Rick Fine has been sent undercover to discover what happened to the last U.S. consul general who he thinks was murdered although the official ruling was suicide. Both Rick and Seth are shocked to find out that they will be working together and the attraction between the two is still blazing.

Throw in to males who are used to being in charge, a secret Rick is keeping from Seth, a mystery of who is using vaccine shipments to move illegal arms and this book explodes of the pages. The pacing of the book was well done and things moved along at a nice speed. There were a few twists and turns and a few suspicious characters although I have to admit I thought the villain was fairly obvious from the beginning.

I really liked both characters, the chemistry was fantastic and they had some humorous banter along the way, especially when Seth got jealous when faced with one of Rick’s old lovers. The sex was hot and just the right amount for me. I also found the dichotomy of Rick being a sexy “nerd” but still having his Alpha moments one of my favorite parts of the book. I found the secondary characters interesting and I hope that Alec and his brothers have their own books at some point.

The thing that took this from a 5 star to a 4 star book for me was the confusing climax at the end. <spoiler>Why was Owen there with a gun? </spoiler>and the ridiculous match making part of the plot.

Overall, an explosive, fast-paced, sexy and fun romantic suspense. I definitely plan to go back and read the first two books!  I give this book 4 Charms.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

