M/M Monday Dating Ryan Alback

33632459

Dating Ryan Alback was a cute book without much angst. I liked the concept of the book but the chemistry between Ryan and Jason just fell flat for me.

Ryan is an actor who wants to keep his private life private no matter what. Although he is starring on a television show he hates publicity. Ryan has some serious trust issues but his agent convinces him to do a publicity stunt where he is set up on a date with someone.

Jason is a teacher who’s friend convinces him to let her enter him in the contest. He doesn’t expect to win and lets her just so she’ll stop bugging him about his lack of love life. Jason is still hung up on his ex who he was with for seven years. He thinks his ex is his soul mate and can’t understand what went wrong.

So between Ryan’s lack of trust and Jason still being hung up on his ex the “bonding” scenes between the two just didn’t seem to work for me and it all just seemed a bit awkward. It comes as no surprise when a tabloid gets the details of their date Ryan blames Jason and he isn’t nice about it! Jason not knowing about Ryan’s past gets angry and leaves.

I thought the scene where Jason goes out and gets drunk and trades hand jobs in a bar with some random stranger to be a bit out of place. I’m not sure why that was in the book and threw me off somewhat. His motive was never really clear – was he trying to forget Ryan? Was he mad at Ryan? Did it have anything to do with Ryan at all?

I also didn’t buy Jason’s ex all of sudden showing up a year later with a change of heart. It seemed a bit contrived and almost obvious.

The book ended with a HFN. The two didn’t really ever make any big plans for the future except for a vacation together over the summer. I don’t think they were living together at the end more of a feeling of well let’s see what happens. I give this book 3 Charms.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

