Edge of Power Review

29213069

Edge of Power is the 4th book in Megan Crane’s The Edge and my favorite so far. I really hope there is more to come in this series! This book takes place right after the events of the 3rd book. I suppose you could read it as a stand alone by why would you when the whole series is really good and you get so much more out of knowing the characters in this book from the earlier books.

This book centers around Wulf who is the King of the Raiders and his mission to kill the King of the Western Mainland and get the power turned back on in the world. Wulf walks right into the kingdom in order to get information and serve as a distraction while the rest of his raiders prepare for the assault. Although it turns out Wulf may be distracting the King of the West but his daughter is distracting Wulf in a completely different way.

In the previous book we met Kathlyn the daughter of the King of the West. She’s lived a life that is hard to imagine. She’s been almost brainwashed to accept her role in life which is to remain a virgin until her father sells her off to loose her virginity in a disturbing public fashion called a mounting ceremony. Her father is ruthless and cruel and Kathlyn survives in the only way she knows how by masking her feelings and showing the world a serene and accepting face. However, she has a core of steel that we saw in the third book when she warned the raiders of her father’s plan. She decides not to sit back and let her life be planned out for her and instead takes action by sneaking into Wulf’s cell. She wants him to take her virginity but she isn’t nearly ready for the reaction she has to Wulf and Wulf certainly doesn’t expect the reaction he has to her.

This book was a little slower on the action then the previous books and more about the character growth of both Wulf and Kathlyn and their relationship. The sex wasn’t quite as dirty, plentiful or filthy but the scenes between the two still burnt up the pages and were still dirty and scorching hot!

Wulf was still the big, bad Alpha warrior king I came to know and love in the first three books and watching him rein in his temper and savage nature while he waited for the time to be right was entertaining and fun. He’s still the same in your face warrior who knows just how lethal and bad he is and Kathlyn can’t believe she’s the only one who truly notices just how dangerous he is.

I loved Kathlyn and Wulf together – they were a perfect match. The chemistry leapt off the pages and this book had by far the best character development. Kathlyn brought out a softer side to Wulf and he helped her find her courage and bring out the strength she already had. When the book was finished I was completely satisfied and yet still hoping for more of them!

If you haven’t started this series and you like an edgy, dark, dirty romance then start now! If you’re a fan of the series this one won’t let you down and will leave you hungry for more. I hope to see a lot more of this world!

I give this book 5 charms and highly recommend it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

