72 Hours Review

32048372

The premise of this book sounded really interesting unfortunately unlikable characters and TSTL moments had me cringing to get to the finish.

Lara was probably the most weak and whiny heroine I have ever read about through most of the book. There was nothing I liked about her and I just wanted to slap her upside the head. She cried constantly and if she wasn’t crying she was whining. Noah was angry through most of the book and although we were supposed to believe he loved Lara and wanted to get back together with her I never felt the connection between the two. Unfortunately, the villain wasn’t any better. His inner dialogue just didn’t ring true to me and had me rolling my eyes. Not to mention he basically spelled out exactly what he was up to so the reader didn’t get to try to figure anything out and it took most of the suspense out of the book.

Then there were the TSTL moments. Noah bashes the villain’s head in with a rock and then runs away not once but twice. Either finish bashing his head in until he’s dead or grab his gun and shoot him. He also steals the motorcycle at one point but do they ride until they reach help or run out of gas – nope. We are supposed to believe they are so far away from civilization that they can’t get to help (even with a stolen motorcycle) but then it’s completely contradicted by the way they are rescued at the end. Not to mention the fact that Noah gets seriously injured a few times (including being shot) but is still able to run, climb and swim.

When they finally get away we get several chapters of Noah and Lara handling the aftermath where Lara vacillates between whiny and weak again and overly tough. Honestly, there just wasn’t anything in this book that worked for me.  Unfortunately this book is only a one charm book for me.

17029230

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

