M/M Monday – Captive Prince Review

17158549

Wow I’m still not sure how I feel about this book. Was I captivated? Yes. Could I put it down once I started it? No. Did it make me feel things? Yes. Was I intrigued? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Well I’m not sure enjoy is the word I’d use. This book made me cringe and it made me uncomfortable but it was very well written and I know I’ll dive into the second book.

In Volume 1 Dominus the Prince of Akielos and rightful heir is sold into slavery to Vere, the enemy of Akielos by his brother after a political coup.  Dominus (Damen) knows he can’t let anyone know who he is because he would be killed so he must play the role of slave but it’s obvious to everyone he will not be easily controlled.  He is given to Prince Laurent who once he comes of age will become the ruler of Vere.

This book had a lot of violence, treachery, slavery, subjugation, political machinations and alliances.  It also had loyalty and strength and a character (Damen) I really loved. It also had Laurent who I really didn’t like but I also could tell that there is a lot more to him than Damen thinks and since this is told in Damen’s POV we don’t get to see it except in a few hints here and there. Damen is such a strong character who won’t break but yet his emotions are out there for everyone to see. Laurent is the opposite. He wears a mask and it’s obvious that he’s been involved with political intrigues and plots for a long time and therefore doesn’t let anyone really know what he is thinking or feeling. I found his character to be very complex and intriguing although again at this point I really didn’t like him. There were a few scenes that made me cringe a bit and I’m not sure how the author will manage to bring these two men together after some of the occurrences in Book 1.

Bottom Line, I’m definitely in for book 2!  I give this book 4 charms.

This entry was posted in M/M Monday by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

