The Baby Bombshell Review

34760247

I absolutely loved the first book in this series so I was a little worried that my expectations were just a bit too high — they weren’t and this book was just as wonderful, emotional and satisfying as the first book! Although it’s the second book in Shadow Creek it can easily be read as a stand alone, however; the first one was an amazing book so start with that one and then move on to this one.

I love second chance romances if they are done right and this one was! There are a couple of things that make a second chance romance really work for me and that’s if the hero had at least a decent reason for leaving (and it wasn’t some stupid miscommunication issue) and that he grovels a little and the heroine doesn’t give in right away. Well this book had all of that and a bonus that the hero, Jack stayed faithful to Lily the entire time he was gone. Yes, he left her and yes he has a lot to make up for but he never stopped loving her and he never tried to “move on”. I loved how completely honest he was when he came back. No beating around the bush just true, honest emotions and letting her know right up front how sorry he was for hurting her, that he loved her and wanted her back. I also loved Lily, even though she still loved Jack she didn’t just roll over and forgive the fact that he hurt her because she didn’t trust him anymore. I loved that it was trust that was the issue for her because it was a very believable and honest reason.

I’m not big on accidental pregnancy plots but it worked in this book. The overall plot was so much more than an unplanned pregnancy but more about both Jack and Lily healing and learning to forgive and find a way back to each other. The pacing was spot on and once I started I couldn’t put this book down. It made me laugh and it made me cry. I once again enjoyed the secondary characters and can’t wait for the next book.  I give this 5 heartfelt and emotional charms!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

