M/M Monday Back Piece Review

34442289

There were some things I really liked about this book and a few not as much things. So after pondering it I finally settled on a 3.5 rating.

This book centers around Daniel who joined the Navy to escape his childhood town and get away from his very religious, homophobic family. He is out of the closet to his Navy friends but not to his family and he’s a virgin. Colin, a tattoo artist, is the opposite of Daniel. His family is very accepting of who he is and he has a lot of sexual experience. He however was in a bad relationship and is still dealing with some of the repercussions from that (mainly an eating disorder). When the two meet up there is instant chemistry and they agree to have a friends with benefits relationship.

I really liked both Daniel and Colin and I thought both back stories where interesting. However, the backstories don’t really come into play for a large portion of the book. In fact, Daniel really didn’t weigh in with Colin’s issues at all. I wanted Daniel to be more involved in that aspect of Colin’s life. In fact this book has very little plot. The two characters talk, have sex and there’s a lot of information about Daniel getting his tattoo. There’s a lot of internal monologues where one or both of them is feeling insecure but not a lot happens. I did like the slow burn of the relationship. They didn’t jump right into falling for each other and the beginning was really just a sexual relationship that turned into something more.

What I really liked about this book was the very realistic way that Daniel’s family was portrayed. Yes, they were extremely homophobic but they loved Daniel. They weren’t an evil family and the book showed a closeness to the family when they interacted. It made Daniel’s decision not to reveal his sexual orientation to them very believable since although heartbreaking Daniel knew that they just wouldn’t accept it.

I enjoyed this book although I felt the ending was a bit abrupt and they definitely ended with a HFN not a HEA. Although this looks to be the first book in the series so maybe we will have more Daniel and Colin in future books.  This was my first book by this author but I will definitely read another one.

This book releases tomorrow on April 25th, 2017.

 

This entry was posted in M/M Monday by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

