Intercepting the Chef Review

31302859.jpg

Intercepting the Chef is the first book in Rachel Goodman’s How to Score Series and honestly I wanted to like this book more than I did because I adored Logan but I just couldn’t connect with Gwen and there were several times within the book that I just didn’t like her. It’s hard to root for a romance when you start to think hero deserves more.

This book features Gwen who is a rising star in the chef world but she was fired by her ex-boyfriend when he felt she “stole his glory”. She moves home where her twin brother and NFL football player gets her job as an executive chef for the restaurant the quarterback of the team and her brother’s best friend (Logan) just opened to honor his mother who died fairly recently of cancer.

Logan was a wonderful character and I really loved just about everything about him. Gwen was harder to like. While I applauded her drive and determination to have a successful career it was the way she judged other people that drove me crazy as well as how closed off she was. There was a point where Gwen was surprised her brother was involved in charity because she thought of him as shallow. She also thought Logan only loved the glory and fame of football and that he didn’t have to work very hard. You couple those reactions with the fact that she was constantly pushing people away and we never really got to see a softer side of Gwen. Logan was surrounded by people who had high expectations for him and only cared about him as the quarterback not as a person and no one to really turn to when he was feeling down or when he was hurt. It would have been wonderful if we could have seen Gwen being that person for him while she chased her own dreams. She basically gave very little to Logan so when they had their big fight I completely sided with Logan.

The turn around in Gwen’s decision was so abrupt that it didn’t feel realistic to me and I wanted more for Logan and Gwen. I did enjoy the secondary characters and would like to know more about her brother Chris for sure.  I can only give this book 3 charms for a wonderful hero!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

