Lethal Lies Review

32188414Lethal Lies is the second book in Zanetti’s Blood Brothers but could be read as a stand alone although I think you’ll get more enjoyment if you’ve read the first book. I love Rebecca Zanetti and I loved the Sin Brothers and the first book in this series. I really liked this one but there were a few things that just weren’t quite as good as the other books. I went back and forth on my rating and finally settled on 4 charms because I did really enjoy this even with the few things that didn’t work as well for me. My expectations for a Zanetti book are very high and this one didn’t quite hit them.

This book centered around Heath who has always been the protector in the group which is saying a lot since both his brothers are also very protective. He is the brother who takes in stray animals and helps them and has a lot of triggers when it comes to abused women due to his mother who was killed by an abusive boyfriend. While I really liked Heath he didn’t feel as well developed as her heroes normally are. IMO too much time was spent on his “triggers” and not enough fleshing the rest of Heath out.

Anya is the target of a serial killer who’s story started in book 1. Heath and his brothers were hired by an earlier victim’s family and they have continued to work on this case. Health sees Anya as a wounded woman and wants to protect her. However, Anya is much stronger than Heath gives her credit for in the beginning. She will do anything to stop this killer and so she sets herself and Heath up as bait (although she is already a target since the killer was always after her).

I thought the suspense was very well done but the romance suffered a little. I didn’t necessarily believe the chemistry between Heath and Anya. The first half of the book there really isn’t much to the relationship between the two other than Anya lusting after Heath and him trying to protect her. It didn’t really feel like a build to me so when they end up together it just fizzled for me. I did like both characters a lot I just didn’t believe that they fell in love with each other.

I loved the interactions between the brothers and the overall plot with Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb. I saw at least some of the twist coming at about the 1/2 way point but there were definitely parts of it that surprised me. I think the last thing that really bothered me was Anya’s sudden ability to get away from the dangerous situation she was in at the end. It seemed completely unrealistic given the rest of the book and I had a hard time with it.

I’m glad the Copper killer plot was wrapped up in this book as I’m much more caught up in the Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb aspects and expect a big finale with Denver’s book which I am very much looking forward to.

So while this was my least favorite of the Sin Brothers/Blood Brothers books it was still very enjoyable. The suspense was excellent, the brothers’ relationships were touching and sweet and the ongoing plot interesting. The romance was the only part that was a bit lacking for me but still definitely worth reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

