Teaser Tuesday

https://i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/hostedimages/1493040067i/22577752._SX540_.png

Teaser Tuesday is originally hosted by MizB over at Books and a Beat.

https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1402433775l/22451231.jpg

 

The book I chose for this particular edition of Teaser Tuesday is The Curious Case of the Clockwork Menace, which is #3.5 in Bec McMaster‘s London Steampunk series.

 

“Life is meant to be laughed at. How else can you keep smiling in this kind of world?”

 

 

I came across this series by chance – the first book is Kiss of Steel – and I enjoyed it tremendously. The series is mainly steampunk, but then, there is also a romance element, and a mystery element, and a very interesting overarching plot that spans the entire series despite every book focusing on a different couple. Most of the characters make appearances throughout the series though, so you don’t lose sight of them entirely. The characters are well developed and the writing had me firmly in its grip from the very first few pages onward.

Seeing that the book I chose is taken from the middle of the series (because I’m currently reading it), I decided to use a quote from the very first book Kiss of Steel as my second quote for this post to give you a bit of a taste.

“I am tempted to incapacitate him with the hemlock and then castrate him.”
Lena paled. “I don’t think that would be very wise,” she said. “And the only knife we own is what I use for the cooking. You’re not using that.”
“I was planning on using a spoon,” Honoria replied.”

Happy reading!

Cocktail Phoenix

 

Leave a Reply

