The Doctor’s Redemption Review

35063321I hate to give this book 3 charms because I LOVED Book 1 and 2 in this series and both were 5 charm reads for me. However, this book just fell short for me. I had been looking forward to Gwen’s story with her muffin man but it just didn’t connect for me the way the previous books did.

I think there were a couple of reasons for this. One was Gwen herself. She spent a lot of the book flip flopping between the desire to change her life and wallowing in self pity about how her life had turned out. She also spent a lot of time thinking she wasn’t very attractive and how she wanted love so much and how she’d spent her life putting everyone else first. It ended up feeling like she wanted a relationship more than she wanted a relationship with Luke. Then there was the fact that Luke flat out tells her that he will never get married again and that he doesn’t want children both of which are very important to Gwen. I really dislike when books have a woman chase a man who says he doesn’t want any of those things thinking he’ll change his mind or he doesn’t really mean it! Of course in a romance he will change his mind but it isn’t realistic and I really dislike that theme. Luke is full of angst and spends most of his time thinking about how much he wants Gwen but can’t have her because he doesn’t deserve her. The big secret is really obvious and IMO is kept entirely too long. By the time he reveals it the secret it just sort of fell flat. I really enjoy Victoria James and although this book didn’t really work for me I am still looking forward to more books in Shadow Creek. I did really enjoy catching up with the characters from the first two books.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

