Spellbinder Review

35442901

I was Spellbound by this book and couldn’t put it down once I started it. Although it’s possible you could read this as a standalone I recommend reading the first book prior to diving into this one. This is Morgan’s book and although he was one of the villains in the previous book we find out quickly in this book that all is not what it seems.

Morgan is under a spell by the Queen Isabeau of the Fae Light Court so that he must obey any direct order she gives him. For hundreds of years he’s lived without his freedom, with only his hate and desire for revenge. When we first see Morgan in this book he is a very stoic character who no longer has much hope and certainly no happiness but when an opportunity for a small bit of freedom opens up he grabs it. This is when he meets Sidonie (Sid) who is a famous musician. Morgan is moved by her music and begins to attend all her concerts. Unfortunately someone else notices that Morgan is fascinated by Sid and the consequences for Sid are horrible and life altering.

Although the book started off a little slow and it took me a little bit to connect with Sid and Morgan once the two meet face to face and start to interact I was hooked. I believed the connection between them and the heat between the two of them. Although Sid wasn’t a kick-ass heroine she had an inner strength and intelligence that I admired and I enjoyed watching her grow throughout her captivity. Another side of Morgan came out when he was with Sid and we got to see his protective and caring side. I loved seeing Morgan put his own freedom on the line to watch over and protect Sid and for her to do the same for him.

I loved the slight elements from Arthurian legends that were included and the originality of the plot. This book had plenty of suspense, danger, magic, wonderfully complex characters, a thrilling romance, villains you love to hate and twists I didn’t see coming. The last few chapters had me in tears and then smiling like crazy. I also loved the small cameo of Dragos at the end. Thea Harrison never ceases to amaze me and the world she created with this series is complex, interesting, and magical. I highly recommend this book and can’t wait to read the next book!

A definite 5 charm book!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

