Making It Review

34857627

3.5 Charms. Making It is the 3rd book in Ringside Romance but can easily be read as a stand alone. This book centers around Eli who is an MMA fighter and his husband Devan. Usually, I like to see the beginning of a relationship and in this book we are dropped in after Eli and Devan had a whirlwind courtship, got married and are trying to begin a family. When their surrogate mother has a miscarriage Eli leaves Devan. He tells Devan it’s because he doesn’t want a family and can’t deal with the pressure but the truth is that Eli is under pressure from a lot of different things and hasn’t opened up to Devan about any of them.

When Eli returns to help his friends promote Ringside gym it’s been three years and he’s had no contact with Devan although Devan has tried to contact him to get divorce papers signed. (Okay there are few things about this scenario that were a bit unbelievable but I just went with it). Eli knows he still has strong feelings for Devan but he doesn’t feel like he deserves him after walking out on him. When Eli takes the divorce papers over to Devan he meets his 11 month old son who could possibly be his biological son. There is still a strong spark between the two of them and Eli decides to see if he can salvage their relationship.

I liked both MCs and wanted things to work out for them but I struggled a little bit with Eli’s passive behavior at times. He wanted to give Devan the space he said he needed and yet I never felt like he really pursued Devan and worked hard enough to be forgiven. At the same time, I loved that Eli takes a hard look at the marriage and realizes that there were some faults on his side as well (although he doesn’t excuse Eli’s walking out he is realistic that they both made mistakes.)

I really enjoyed seeing Eli bond with the baby and open to Eli about all the things he had previously held back.

I enjoyed this relationship centered and engaging book although I would have liked to see a more solid HEA.  3 1/2 Charms rounded up to 4.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by afgypsysoul. Bookmark the permalink.

About afgypsysoul

I have always loved to read. My first memory of reading is winning a stuffed animal turtle for reading the most books in my 2nd grade class. I am a retired Air Force Officer who has traveled around the world with my kindle! I love anything with a romance. I'm a big fan of paranormal romance, urban fantasy (as long as there's a little bit or romance), romantic suspense, contemporary romance and M/M. I have over 1000 books on my kindle that I haven't read yet and somehow I keep adding more. I never leave home without my kindle and I love reading challenges. I currently live in Phoenix with my husband and two kids. I also have two wonderful dogs a lovable pitbull and a cute dachshund. I'm still hoping my kids will pick up my love for reading!

Leave a Reply

